Cutting sky
This is written as a third movement of the "okeanos" cycle (although each movement can be played independently.) The cycle is written for a combination of Japanese traditional instruments and western instruments. "cutting sky" features koto and a viola, which is played only with plectrum to match the plucked sound of the koto. This work is in a way written for an imaginary instrument - the "super-koto", as the plectrum viola acts as a sort of extension of the koto. As the rest of the four movements of the okeanos cycle have a fluid structure and feel to them, I wanted this movement to have a tautness and precision, as if cutting the air with the sharpest of swords!

Dai Fujikura (edited by Miranda Jackson)

- MENU -
top page

© Copyright Dai Fujikura. All rights reserved.